Tel: +86-852-27935511


Home > Knowledge > Content
The Rules of Ice Hockey
- Jan 09, 2019 -

There are two main ice hockey rules, one is IIHF, the other is NHL. Both of these codes are originated from Canadian rules developed in early 20th Century. Ice hockey is played on a hockey rink. For an official game, each team always has 6 players on ice. Among them, one player is goaltender, the rest 5 players are divided into 3 forwards and 2 defencemen, they need to skate on ice and try to shoot a rubber puck into opponent’s goal. Players all use sticks to pass or shoot the punk. 


One official game includes 3 “periods”, each period has 20 minutes. Players have 15 minutes between each period. During the game, coach can change players anytime without a pause. 


A typical ice hockey game has 2 linesmen and 2 referees on-ice and off-ice officials include goal judges, time keepers and official scorers. Specifically, linesmen are responsible for judge “offside” and “icing” violations, breaking up fights and against offending players. Referees call goals and all other penalties. Activities that players are prohibited to do include “elbowing”, “tripping”, “hooking” and “interference”, etc. The offender will be sent to the “penalty box” and team need to play with one less player on ice for relevant minutes. Minor penalties last for 2 minutes and major penalties last for 5 minutes.